Sinful Sweet Treats

Caëderkükske

Caëderkükske is one of Tongeren’s most famous treats. This tasty coconut shortbread from Tongeren is shaped like the ‘Dodecahedron’, a mysterious Roman object with 12 pentagonal surfaces. You can find an original Roman example at the Gallo-Roman Museum

Tongerse Moppen

Tongerse moppen have been popular here since the 18th century. The people of Tongeren baked these aniseed, honey and candy sugar flavoured biscuits at New Year, Shrove Tuesday and other holidays. This regional speciality fell out of favour for many years until it was revived in 1981. 

Ambiorix speculaas biscuits

It’s no secret that speculaas is very popular in this part of the world. And as a tribute to our local superhero who bravely defeated the Romans, we like to bake these biscuits with his image on them. Each packet has 11 biscuits.

Ambiorix chocolate

Nowadays, you can do more than just admire Ambiorix’s heroic deeds: you can also literally sink your teeth into the king of the Eborones. Our local hero has been immortalised in milk and fondant chocolate a creamy praline filling. Each stylish box contains 20 chocolates.

Péché Mignon

Caëderkükske

Le Tongerse Caëderkükske est l’un des plus célèbres biscuits de la cité. Composé d'une délicieuse pâte sablée au coco façonnée pour former un « dodécaèdre », un mystérieux objet romain à 12 côtés. Un exemplaire original est exposé au Musée gallo-romain.

Tongerse Moppen

Au 18e siècle déjà, les Tongerse Moppen étaient très populaires dans la cuisine tongroise. Les Tongrois les préparaient avec de l’anis, du miel et du sucre candi pour le Nouvel An, le Mardi Gras et d’autres fêtes. Cette spécialité s’est malheureusement perdue pendant un certain temps, mais connaît un énorme regain de popularité depuis 1981.

Spéculoos Ambiorix

Ce n’est un secret pour personne : le spéculoos est très populaire dans nos contrées. En hommage à notre superhéros local qui mit fin au joug des Romains, nous en préparons volontiers à son effigie. Ils sont vendus en paquets de 11 pièces.

Chocolat Ambiorix

Dorénavant, vous ne vous contenterez plus de rester bouche bée devant les exploits d’Ambiorix. Vous pouvez également mordre à pleines dents dans notre roi des Éburons. Le héros de notre ville a en effet été immortalisé sous la forme de chocolat au lait et fondant, fourré de crème pralinée. Ils sont vendus par 20 dans un joli coffret.

 

Recommander cette page